Motion Analysis awarded technical achievement award from Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

SANTA ROSA, CA (January 3, 2005) – The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Board of Governors has voted to grant Technical Achievement Awards to Dr. John O.B. Greaves, Ned Phipps, Antonie J. van den Bogert and Bill Hayes for the development of the Motion Analysis motion capture technology.

Technical Achievement Awards are given for devices, methods, formulas, discoveries or inventions of special and outstanding value to the arts and sciences of motion pictures and contribute to the progress of the industry. Technical Achievement Awards, to be presented as certificates, are based upon recommendations from the Scientific and Technical Awards Committee, chaired by Richard Edlund.

The Scientific and Technical Academy Awards will be presented at a gala black tie dinner on Saturday evening, February 12, at the Ritz Carlton Huntington Hotel in Pasadena.

Additional Oscar news from Motion Analysis Corporation include two films, “I, Robot” and “Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow”, being qualified to compete for nominations for the “Best Special Effects” Oscar. Both films include motion capture provided by Motion Analysis Studios. All final nominations will be announced on January 25 with the awards ceremony broadcast live on February 27.